a special weekend.

As Thursday dragged on, I couldn’t help but get impatient.
Zac was leaving today, he was just hours away from being with me again and work was dragging.
Then Cam casually mentioned a cyclone that was en route and I started to panic, concerned he might be delayed, or worse swept off into oblivion in the eye of the storm.

I spent the rest of the afternoon nervously waiting a storm that never came and after getting about 3 hours sleep, to say I was desperate to see him would have been an understatement.
I bounded to the bus stop in time for the 4am pick up to the airport, with the enthusiasm of a woman in love.
I got to the bus stop to find that the pick up was in fact at 4:15am, and, of course, it was then 15 minutes late.

easter snaps from Becky K on Vimeo.

After what felt like an small eternity, 2 coffees and 3 sticks of gum later, he came through the arrivals gate.
I ran up to him, trying to get that jumping hug, only to be blocked by other couples who’d managed to reunite in front of us.
As we waited for the shuttle bus to take us to the car hire place, I couldn’t stop smiling and kept trying to bury my face in his cheeks.

first order of the day was a nap and some sleepy cuddles.
second order was brunch: we had a weekend to plan.

We found a sunny table in a corner at Crave and ordered without looking at the menu.
I’m not even going to pretend we weren’t that smug loved up couple you see at restaurants and kind of hate. Holding hands across the table, staring at each other bleary eyed, tears of joy that we get to be together.
Here he was, in the flesh, and I didn’t want to let go.

It’s cliche, of course, but I’ve never felt this way about anyone. Never been so certain that for the rest of my life, it’s them; never wanted to be around someone so much, or never ran out of things to say.

We talk on the phone for nearly an hour on the way in to work, an hour on the way home, texts and snaps throughout the day and countless times people have commented that we talk a lot, but it never feels like enough.

Of course distance amplifies all those feelings.
Makes the heart grow fonder and all that, but when you’re as emotionally shut off as I tend to be it’s an almost overwhelming rush to feel.
And I can’t help myself with Zac: I feel everything.

day trips and brunches, a weekend for kings.

We went to the Aquarium, slightly underwhelmed by the size of the exhibit (and the fact you start off with the penguins, “How can they possibly top penguins, Zac? You can’t just open with penguins!“)
But it was an aquarium, so there’s no way I’m not going enjoy it. I wandered around, squealing at the fish, shouting random facts to Zac and telling him the names of the fish. I’m not sure who was more excited to be there, me or the hoards of 4 – 9 year olds that stressed parents were desperately trying to entertain over the Easter holidays.

With it being nearly 2 years to the day, we couldn’t spend the weekend without going to see The Fate of the Furious. Our first date had been to see Fast and Furious 7, and despite not having high hopes for Furious 8 (when will they let it go) we were pleasantly surprised.
I maintain there’s no way the film isn’t painfully self-aware, that the cheesy lines and gratuitous chases and stunts are all part of the: “We know it’s getting ridiculous, but we’re still going to do this well” – and Jason Statham was surprise comedic gold.
Plus a cameo by Helen Mirren, what’s not to love?

The weekend was genuinely mostly taken up by cuddles and brunches.

Leave a Reply

