A&A; Making Someone’s Day and Destroyed by Jabs

This week has flown by. I’ve started lifeguarding again, which means I was trying to cram all my shadow shifts in to one week in order to get signed off and pick up some shifts of my own as soon as possible.
It was also the most I’d worked (consecutively) for a while so I was pooped, but it was the good kind of tired, where you know you deserve it – does that make sense? Believe it or not, guarding is a pretty full on job. As a shadow I was on building the whole shift, meaning all the cleaning, all the set ups, all the heaving and ho-ing of ridiculously sized and shaped equipment (I’m looking at you soft play). Yes, being on pool means sitting in 30 degree humidity for up to an hour, but it is, at least, a slight break from the physical demands of ‘building’.

I digress. Aside from being a bit of a pansy when it comes to actually working, this week had some late contenders for my awkward and awesome.

Awkward
Summer is here and in true British summertime fashion, the heavens well and truly opened after nearly a week of clear blue skies. Zac got to experience his first thunder storm in the UK and saw his first English lightening strike (he was very excited about this).
We had a Doc’s appointment and had a mad dash down in the car after he was held up on the way home from work, owing to the storm.
We get half way in to town and our path is blocked by a flooded underpass. There’s a bridge on the drive in that dips down, it’s a deceiving dip and bend with train tracks running on the bridge overhead. If you know the roads, you could see that there was no way you were getting through that puddle – at this stage, I think even if you didn’t know the roads it was obvious there was no way you were getting through, but 3 cars seemed to think otherwise.
Chaos on the road, cars turning around and we only had 10 minutes to get to our appointment. Thankfully, I’ve retained enough knowledge of the roads around Ashby that we managed to go out and back in the ‘back way’, making it just in time.
It honestly felt like we were driving through some kind of post-apocalyptic crisis and we just had to get out.

That’s not the awkward though, we were at the Doc’s for our appointment with the travel nurse, to find out what jabs we’d need for our trip to Cambodia (and around…).
Half an hour later, wrangling with our options and weighing up every worst case scenario and cost (and finding out that Japanese Encephalitis is on the list of recommended jabs for Australia of all places – if we didn’t need it at home, then we’d probably be ok while we away, plus saved ourselves £300) we’d had our Typhoid jab and first Hep A/B jabs.
It stung.
It ached after.
We were tired.
We slept.

I woke up and couldn’t move.
I was so sore! It felt like I’d done a killer arms/shoulder sesh the day before, it was DOMS level of pain.
I had to go work that morning and hoying kids around for 3 hours didn’t help. I came home and crashed. I couldn’t keep my eyes open. It was bizarre, and unnerving and I couldn’t fathom why I was so beat up from two silly little injections.
Zac was tired, but he’d sort of got over the pain (for the most part, although I accidentally head butted his arm in Tesco and he got quite cross with me), but for me it was just awful. Even now (3 days later) I feel like I’ve got a huge bruise on each side.

We’ve still got 5 more to have…

Awesome
There was nothing else this week that could beat surprising Carina with the money to pay for her passport.
Living in Australia you really don’t need a passport – everything you could ever want from a summer holiday you can find on that continent, so it shouldn’t really be a surprise to me when I meet Australian’s who don’t have a passport.
For Zac, getting his was the best thing he did for himself, it literally opened up the world to him and he’s always so excited about the prospect of seeing somewhere new.
He’s been trying to ages to get Carina to come and meet us while we’re away (either in Thailand or Vietnam…somewhere), but the biggest sticking point seemed to be the cost of the passport. Add flights and spending money it soon adds up, and even though once you’re there it’s incredibly cheap, it’s the initial outlay that was making it look unlikely she’d come.
Zac’s wanted his Mum to get a passport for months and without ever really having the conversation we’d agreed we were going to pay for it, it felt like the least we could do (especially after she had to clear out my old house and weed the garden which meant getting attacked by wasps…in the rain). She’s been our PA Down Under and with everyone else being demanding of her (did I tell you Zac has 7 brothers and sisters?), it just seemed fair.

After a Skype sesh that ended with Carina seeming to be trying to let us down gently about not being able to come to meet us we decided it was time.
We transferred the money over and then quickly rang her back to see her reaction.
Priceless.
Perhaps the most expensive gift we’ll ever give her, because the travel possibilities are now endless, but I think a passport is an essential.

Day made.

Leave a Reply

