Yellow Bird Cafe

I was lucky enough to be treated to brunch by a friend the other day: always keen to make the most of ‘local’ knowledge, I happily followed his suggestion to try out Yellow Bird Cafe, just round the corner from my flat. Slightly concerned that it was a Mexican themed restaurant and they might not have Eggs Benedict, he assured me he’d had brunch there before and I was in for a treat, so happily I strolled down the road to discover another new brunch spot.

Mexican inspired restaurant, the inside is bright and vibrant - a hipsters dream

Mexican inspired restaurant, the inside is bright and vibrant – a hipsters dream

It was turning out to be a ‘typical’ Melbourne day for weather: the clouds were beginning to draw in and rain was starting to spot down as I arrived, so the cafe looked closed as we rocked up with the doors slid shut. A cheeky peek inside and we saw a nearly full restaurant: I excitedly slid the door open and peered inside at the brightly decorated bar, high booths with bright covered seats and flowers hanging from the ceiling. It reminded me of all my favourite brunch spots in Newcastle and it was hard to suppress a smile.
A quick glance at the menu and I found what I was looking for: Eggs Benedict. Embracing my newfound predictability I was ready to order.

Slightly over dusted with chocolate, but I'm not going to complain too much about extra chocolate

Slightly over dusted with chocolate, but I’m not going to complain too much about extra chocolate

The mocha was nice, it’s a constant treat to find consistently made mochas throughout the city: I’m clearly in coffee snob heaven, but there were a few niggles. Once again it was only just warm; Melbourne, your mochas are great, but I want them a bit hotter! The coffee was a nice rich flavour and it complemented the chocolate milk, but there was too much powder and it separated as the coffee sat, meaning I had to stir it in between sips to keep everything incorporated. They were also a bit over excited with the chocolate powder on top, but I’m not going to complain about that too much…

Nice presentation, the cress was a delightful detail

Nice presentation, the cress was a delightful detail

The muffins were delicious, although I could have done with them being toasted for a little longer (I know, something I never thought I would say). I love the addition of the cress – I always forget how much flavour there is in a tiny stalk of cress and it really complemented the flavours of the eggs and the sauce. The hollandaise itself was nice, but a little too buttery for my taste. The ham was nice too, but I was slightly put off by the fact it was perfectly round – I want my ham to have the illusion of coming straight off the pig and it was a little too well presented: this is entirely a point of personal preference it was deliciously smoked. The yolks however were runny and the eggs had been poached by hand, which is something I love to see – a slightly misshapen, but perfectly poached egg is more exciting for me, food wise, than a perfectly round poached egg.

Slightly put off by the perfectly round slices of ham

Slightly put off by the perfectly round slices of ham

Overall, I really enjoyed brunch. The booth’s are really spacious and private enough you feel like you’re in your own little place. The staff are really friendly and it reminds me of all my favourite indie/hipster brunch holes and bars in Newcastle – so in a strange way it felt like home. It’s a Mexican style cafe so I was a little unnerved by the concept of a breakfast burrito, but it looked good and my friend certainly devoured it in enough time. The regular coffee is also really nice, it’s quite a dark roast, so a really rich flavour, which is perfect for me! We decided to stay for another drink and wait out the rain, which had decided to pour down while we were brunching.

Runny yolks are a must have with the perfect Eggs Benedict

Runny yolks are a must have with the perfect Eggs Benedict

The Bottom Line
Service was really nice and friendly and it was a nice place to wait out the rain. The yolks were nice and runny and the hollandaise was good if a bit too buttery and didn’t have the mustard kick that you expect. The muffins were a bit too soft and the ham was too uniform, but the coffee was delicious.
3.5/5

Leave a Reply

