It’s All Happening…

So. I’m leaving. For Australia.

Typical knee jerk, reaction: “Well…this isn’t working for me anymore, other side of the world? Sure!”

I’m not entirely deluded, I know that running across to the other side of the date line isn’t going to magically make everything better, but there’s a lot to be said for sunshine, swimming and a (drastic) change of scenery.

I suppose I should provide some context, although seeing as this blog is largely for family and Lorna (who totally counts as family, but there’s no legal part of any form I’ve seen for ‘Babygurl’) I suppose context is largely redundant.
Still…
My name’s Becky.
I currently live in a little market town in the middle of England called Ashby de la Zouch. It’s always been home, always will be home, but it’s a stifling little market town in the middle of England. I work in a beautiful Delicatessen and Patisserie in this little market town in the middle of England, I love selling cakes – I’m going to sell my own one day – but I work in a beautiful Delicatessen and Patisserie in a stifling little market town in the middle of England.
I’m always torn.
I love my town. I love my job. I love Lorna.
I love being British. I love British Summertime (when we get the weather). But I love adventure.
I love to travel and see new things and throw myself off the top of a waterfall because it looks like fun, or hug an alpaca because he looks fluffy or shoo a huntsman naked because he was interrupting Naked Wednesday’s.
There’s not so much of that in Ashby.

So. I’m leaving. For Australia.

I’m going to Melbourne to teach swimming.
This much I know for definite.
The finer points are still being worked out – I’ll find out over the coming weeks the specifics.
I can’t wait. I think.
I’m excited. I think.

I am.ย Of course.
I’m more worried that I won’t come back…

One response to “It’s All Happening…

  1. Of course you’re excited! I’m excited! Mainly because I get to visit and hug a Koala! YOU. I meant hug you…

Leave a Reply

